Big News and torture

by

First, the Big News, remember when Bank of America took over Merrill Lynch at the behest of the US government?  “Mr Lewis Bank of America’s chairman and chief executive, also knowingly hid the state of Merrill Lynch’s “staggering” losses from shareholders at the behest of former Treasury Secretary Paulson and Federal Reserve chairman Ben Bernanke.” Mr. lewis didn’t want to takeover Merrill because of Merrill’s “staggering losses” but he was forced to after being “threatened” by Fed Chairman Bernanke.

“…Paulson and other policymakers may have resorted to breaking securities laws in order to protect a fragile financial system, according to Peter Sorrentino, “Everyone involved knew that was a clear violation, that’s material non-public information, so basically we just closed the rule book during the crisis and said we don’t care, we need to keep the lights on, and we’ll deal with that manana,” Sorrentino said. “Logic went out the window and they were just acting out of fear,” he said. It was “completely panic mode.”

THE WOLVES ARE IN CHARGE OF THE HEN HOUSE.  THEY DON’T GIVE A CRAP ABOUT US.  ALL THEY CARE ABOUT IS THE PERPETUATION OF THE  SYSTEM. PRESERVE THE STATUS QUO AT ALL COSTS.

Next:

Do you support Iran waterboarding the American reporter/agent being held by Iran?  Why not, Iran accuses her of being a spy.  If the US can waterboard suspects Iran should also be able to. Iran should drug her, put creepy, crawly bugs on her, keep her awake for a week straight, put lightsticks up her butt, electrodes on her nipples, dry fire a pistol at her head, slam her up against a wall, water board her 180 times in a month, let vicous attack dogs bark within inces of her face, strip her naked and let her freeze than pile her up with other naked detainees and not feed her for a week. I support Iran doing this to the captive reporter, poor Ms. Roxana Saberi.

If you support the US using torture, or if it helps you to justify and rationalize your own barbarism or bloodlust, “extraordinary interrogation methods”, and you don’t support them doing it to us, then in my opinion you are a hypocrite or lack reasoning skills.  I’m always open to argument so convince me why it’s ok for US, but not for them.

Which gets me to the issue once again of torture.  The US should not torture suspects.  It puts US citizens at risk of also being tortured by others.   US CITIZEN Jose Padilla was tortured and drugged.  I also believe that we need to get to the bottom of who authorized it, hold those folks accountable and put an end to the practice so others are not put at risk.

Torture – coming soon to a FEMA camp near you. Then I will be laughing at you as you meekly cry, “…but…but…but…..I meant you can only torture them and not US.”  Hahaha!!  Give them the power and they will use it.

GM is shutting down over the summer. Was this part of the plan that GM management had to present to the government in order to get taxpayer funds?  If not, just think how poorly GM must be run if they weren’t able to predict less than six months beforehand that they would have to close plants down for the entire summer.  Wild.  They should declare bankruptcy.  You couldn’t run a convenient store like that and stay open.

Just think how this summer may look with tens of thousands more facing temporary layoffs and putting more economic demands on the already bankrupt states.  Will the last one out of Michigan please turn off the lights?

Finally, the government is going to force some consumer friendly credit card regulations to reign in the worst abuses by credit card bastards.  Charging someone an interest rate of 25 or 30% is usurious and should still be illegal.  From Marketwatch: The House bill would take actions such as:

Marquette National Bank v. First Omaha did away with the ability of states to regulate out of state credit card companies.   That was the beginning of the end for the American consumer.  I don’t think that the proposed bill goes far enough.  I want blood from the bloodsuckers.

One last thing, The number of first-time jobless claims rose by to 640,000 last week and continuing claims are again at the highest level on record, the U.S. Labor Department said in its weekly report on Thursday” and continuing claims also set another new record at over 6,000,000, more than double last year’s rate at this time.  That’d be a 100% increase.

So don’t get too down on yourself if you get laid off as you got lots of company.

GET OUTSIDE EVERYDAY!!

I was out walking and I saw some deer out feeding in last year’s corn field.  I wanted to walk closer to them to see if I could get a better picture.  I had the dog with me and he isn’t as patient as I am.  I was able to walk maybe within 100 feet of them.

p1010078Can you see her?  You may have to click on the pic to expand it.  So I’m trying to walk slowly, take a few steps and stop, take a few more steps and stop.  There’s no cover for me so I’m not too hidden, just moving slowly and trying to appear uninterested in them.  How would that be for a shot!!?!  Oooo, I love venison.  I know she’s probably too small.

p1010079You see these two puppies staring back at me  and the dog very interested in us?  So my dog can’t contain himself anymore and there you go….

p1010080…the little whitetails running for cover.

7 Responses to “Big News and torture”

  1. Big News and torture Says:

    […] Original post by Abraham […]

  2. Black Dog Says:

    Abraham,
    I love your blog, however in some instances I think you don’t understand our current situation. The Obama administration is doing all it can to curb the tide. I think we do agree that we need more government programs to help the poor and minorities. True this will cost more money but the working class can afford to pay more they just need to tighten there budget.
    BD

  3. Abraham Says:

    I would means test social security and remove the ceiling on FICA contributions. I’d also raise the rate on unearned income. While I was at it, I’d shrink the size of the military by about 80%, well at least 1/2.

  4. Jaye Says:

    Black Dog,
    I’m “working class” and I can’t afford to pay more and my budget is bare bones tight. I don’t have cable television or a cell phone, I don’t go out to eat, I don’t buy new clothes. What would you suggest I cut back on? Maybe the number of toilet paper squares I use?

  5. Black Dog Says:

    Jaye,
    I know some times it seams like that. We all have tight budgets. I’m sure with some restraint you could trim it back a bit. I know what its like to live on a tight budget. We have 4 kids and the AFDC checks don’t leave much room for fun. We only eat out two or three times a week. We have had to live like this for over 16 years, to make matters worse we have another kid on the way. If they could restructure taxes and level the field, it would make life better. If Obama raises taxes slightly, most of the working class wont even notice the difference. Since the money is only deducted from there pay, they are forced to make ends meet. If some people that cant make it, they could get a part time job after work. Just until they get there finances in order.

  6. Waylon Says:

    Can I simply just say what a relief to discover someone who actually
    understands what they’re talking about on the web.
    You definitely know how to bring a problem
    to light and make it important. More and more
    people really need to check this out and understand this side of your story.
    I can’t believe you aren’t more popular given that you surely possess the gift.

  7. Treatment For Foot Pain Says:

    Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and posting comments.

    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

