S&W model 317

by

This will be my review of the S&W model 317.  I like the 317 it’s a basic eight shot revolver.  It’s made out of some new alloy so it weighs less than a pound.  Some of you may know it as a J frame model meaning that it is a small revolver.  It is very concealable – small and light.  I’ve seen some people call it a “kit gun.”

p1010051What I like about it is that it is small, holds eight shots and is .22 caliber.  I have nothing against semi-autos, but semis are kind of fussy.  You need your magazine otherwise your semi is can only be used as a club or a stone.  Semis are also a bit choosy about what kind of ammo they like.   On the downside, and it’s a biggie, it’s just a little .22 so you won’t be doing any big game hunting with the 317, but that’s not why you carry it with you.  And forget about finding any speedloaders for it.  Another downside is that it is tough to find holsters for a 3″ barrel J frame. This is a Bianchi.  I like IWB for everyday concealed carry, but this Bianchi is comfortable for being out and about.

p1010056If big brother ever comes a knocking they’ll be trying to outlaw the big, bad, scary semis and most likely lever actions, pump and revolvers will be left still legal.  If you own another J frame revolver you can use the little 317 for target practice and still become more proficient with your center fire.

Being a .22 I can carry a lot more ammo.   Ammo is still cheap for it too.  You can get 50 rounds for $2.50 and get 500 round bricks for 25 or 30 bucks.  An old pill bottle filled holds a pretty fair amount and assortment of ammo.

p1010057If you go backpacking this little pistol packs away unnoticed and you can carry a ton of ammo that’ll  meet most of your needs.  This is what the empty bottle holds.

p1010058You can see there are some mini-mags, short subsonics, short hypersonics, lr subsonics, hollowpoints and even some shotshells.

The 317 shoots fine.  It has an adjustable rear sight and a fiber optic type of front sight.   It’s not the most accurate, but within 25 yards it’s plenty accurate for my eyes.  I can’t imagine trying to hit anything beyond 25 yards with the 317.  I can shoot hundreds of rounds through it before my hand even starts to think about being tired.  It’s great for shooting at jugs and such.    If need be you could harvest plenty of game with it.

If I could only take one firearm with me and I had to get out of dodge you know this may be it.  Hide it anywhere.  It weighs nothing.  Extra 22 ammo can be bought ANYWHERE.  You can carry thousands of rounds.  The round is fine for squirrels and birds and even some larger game.

There’s a great review of the S&W model 317 by Jeff Quinn here.

Get outside everyday!! This is the flower of skunk cabbage.  If you live in the northern US near water I bet there is some growing near you.

p1010048I like the way the flower looks.  To me it looks like a bird eating something.  A pretty plant, especially in the spring when there aren’t even any leaves open on the trees yet.

Skunk cabbage is a weird plant.  The young leaves are edible, but first you need to thoroughly dry them as in dehydrate very well in the sun or a dehydrator.    If you fail to dry or dehydrate thoroughly, as Wild Man Bill says, ‘it will feel like 1,000,000 tiny pins prickling your tongue.  OUCH!!  Boiling doesn’t destroy the stinging substance, only thorough drying of the young leaves.

p1010047The upside is that because skunk cabbage contains so many active substances in it that it has many medicinal properties.  The ground root was used for toothaches and the ground leaves for itching and rheumatism.  A root tincture was used as an expectorant too.  At high doses though it is poisonous so you gotta get your own books and do your own research.

27 Responses to “S&W model 317”

  1. Snoop-Diggity-DANG-Dawg Says:

    The 317 is indeed a great all-purpose weapon, and next on my list for purchase. After that, I’m looking for a 686 7-shot .357 Mag. I imagine those are the oly two handguns I’ll ever need.

  2. Brickhead Says:

    If they come for semi-autos, they’re coming for your 317 too. Do not kid yourself.

  3. Abraham Says:

    Snoop-the only idea I would suggest that you consider is that the two S&Ws that you are thinking of are different frame sizes. They are both fine firearms. If you get a S&W model 60, it is also a J frame which means you can use the same holsters for the model 60 and the model 317. Even better because they are the same dimensions you can shoot the low ammo cost 317 and get better at handling the centerfire model 60. The model 60 though is only five shots. I agree with you that these two fireamrs will be able to address more than 99% of what you aer likely to ever need.

    Brickhead-I disagree. Do you also think that black powder will be outlawed? The last AWB only applied to certain semis. Next on the list are high cap handguns. If anything I see it moving in incremental changes – first revive the AWB, then maybe move to large cap handguns, then …who knows. I’m not saying that high cap handguns will be outlawed, but I think the likelihood of them being outlawed before wheelguns is near 100%.

    I’d suggest to everyone that they should get at least one or two pump, lever, bolt or cylinder operated guns. I see the last to be outlawed are revolvers, bolt, lever and pump operated.

  4. Snoop-Diggity-DANG-Dawg Says:

    Good points, Abraham. I hadn’t thought of that. My main motivation was that my wife will probably be reluctant to fire a .357, but might seriously consider carrying something less intimidating, like the 317. Laser hand-grips would probably seal the deal.

    For home defense I’m content with a Remington 807 and 1100 semi-auto.

  5. the urban survivalist Says:

    I don’t know if it would be my first choice if it’s the only gun that I could take with me but a .22 revolver or two, as far as I’m concerned, are essential to any gun collection. A 12 gauge shotgun and a .22 revolver are what I would tell anyone to start their collection with.

    As for the tin foil stuff they’ll start with the most “dangerous” guns and slowly but surely find reasons to ban or severely restrict the availability and ownership requirements for everything else. I don’t see guns like revolvers or bolt action rifles ever becoming illegal to own but I can see them being such a hassle to own that it won’t be worthwhile to the average person.

  6. "Farmer" Elaine Says:

    Skunk cabbage is also a very important first nectar source in the spring for bees.

  7. Fenix MC10 Anglelight « Abraham’s Blog Says:

    […] Haha.) this would be the light.  But ask me the same question bout a gun and it’d be my S&W 317.  In this picture here if you look closely you can see that the little lens cover light diffuser […]

  8. gary Says:

    Just sold my 317, in order to buy a model 34 S&W. The reason I sold it was because it wasn’t as accurate as I would have liked, although didn,t try it with more than 2 different types of ammo.
    On the positive side, it was so light that you would forget you were carrying it, and sometimes I’d forget to take it off when I was back at home. That kinda scared me, alot.
    It also got hot after prolonged plinking sessions, and empties were hard to eject. Again, on the plus side it was an 8 shooter and that’s one third more ammo capacity than the model 34.
    At one time I’d picked up a demo gun from a gun shop, it was a model 617 used in an NRA safety course and looked damn near new, the price was right, so I bought it thinking it would be a good woods gun.
    Well as it turned out it’s K frame and full lug under the barrel made it to heavy to carry, but I sure did like it’s 10 shot cylinder capacity, anyway, it wasn’t a kit gun.
    The model 34 isn’t common in used gunshops,so it took me a while to find one, when I finally did it turned out to be a 4 inch nickeled gun, that was ok with me. I still have it and I find it much more accurate, and don’t mind the extra weight at all, nickeled guns don’t have the finish worn off just by carrying em like a blued gun and I carry mine inside the pants up against my sweaty body.
    Sorry to be so damn long winded.

  9. gary Says:

    Just sold my 317, in order to buy a model 34 S&W. The reason I sold it was because it wasn’t as accurate as I would have liked, although didn,t try it with more than 2 different types of ammo.
    On the positive side, it was so light that you would forget you were carrying it, and sometimes I’d forget to take it off when I was back at home. That kinda scared me, alot.
    It also got hot after prolonged plinking sessions, and empties were hard to eject. Again, on the plus side it was an 8 shooter and that’s one third more ammo capacity than the model 34.
    At one time I’d picked up a demo gun from a gun shop, it was a model 617 used in an NRA safety course and looked damn near new, the price was right, so I bought it thinking it would be a good woods gun.
    Well as it turned out it’s K frame and full lug under the barrel made it to heavy to carry, but I sure did like it’s 10 shot cylinder capacity, anyway, it wasn’t a kit gun.
    The model 34 isn’t common in used gunshops,so it took me a while to find one, when I finally did it turned out to be a 4 inch nickeled gun, that was ok with me. I still have it and I find it much more accurate, and don’t mind the extra weight at all, nickeled guns don’t have the finish worn off just by carrying em like a blued gun and I carry mine inside the pants up against my sweaty body.
    Sorry to be so damn long winded. But side by side, I think most of us after shooting the two,(317 and 34) would choose the model 34, it also comes in a 2 in. bbl

  10. ronsteele@triad.rr.com Says:

    Can I use mini-mags and stingers in my s&w 317 revolver without hurting it (it is labelled as .22 LR)?

  11. Airborne Bob Says:

    I own and carry the S&W 317, but I had a problem with about 18 misfires on the range one day. I had been using some good ammo too. It turned out to be a problem with the firing pin and the main spring. Sent the 317 back to S&W and they replaced both. So far, I have had no misfires. If you own and carry the 317 for protection, I would make sure that you test fire your weapon several times before going out with it. I am a retired cop, and only carry this small gun as a last resort weapon and because it holds 8 rounds, and weighs only 11.10 oz loaded. Also want to mention that this weapon should not be dry fired, which I did not do. The dry firing could cause many misfires !

  12. brightest led flashlights Says:

    Good post. I’m going through a few of these issues as well..

  13. growth hormone tablets Says:

    Every weekend i used to go to see this site, as i wish for enjoyment,
    for the reason that this this website conations truly good funny stuff too.

  14. Sheryl Says:

    I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

    Our blog site concerning technological know-how: Sheryl

  15. Marcia Says:

    Amazing blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m
    a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go
    for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Kudos!

  16. thyroid cu Says:

    It’s going to be ending of mine day, except before end I am reading this fantastic paragraph to increase my knowledge.

  17. http://xrambo.com/blog/1118 Says:

    Hello, Neat post. There’s an issue along with your web site in internet explorer, would check this? IE nonetheless is the market chief and a good component to folks will leave out your magnificent writing because of this problem.

  18. richardklewis.shutterfly.com Says:

    I drop a leave a reeponse when I appreciate a post
    on a blog or I have something to contribute too thee
    conversation. Usually it’s triggered by the fire displayed in the
    article I read. And on this article S&W model 317 | Abraham’s Blog.

    I was excited enough to create a thouhght 🙂 I actually do have somme
    questions for you if you usually do not mind. Is it simply me or do a few of the remarks appear like they are
    left by braiin desad folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online social sites, I would like to follow anything fresh you have to post.

    Could youu make a list the complete urls of
    all your public sites like your twitter feed,
    Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  19. bielizna na noc poślubną Says:

    Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga
    group? There’s a lot of people that I think would
    really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  20. Tactical Holsters Says:

    I aam regularr visitor, how are you everybody? This paragraph posted at
    this web site is genuinely fastidious.

  21. web Says:

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you are a great
    author. I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and definitely will come back someday.

    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great work,
    have a nice afternoon!

  22. Elden Says:

    Excellent way of telling, and good piece of writing to take data regarding my presentation focus, which
    i am going to deliver in academy.

  23. tunele foliowe Says:

    It’s very effortless to find out any matter on net as compared to textbooks, as I
    found this paragraph at this web page.

  24. Regarder Lucy Says:

    Ces websites Web films n’hebergeons pas de contenu, mais sont
    mis a jour quotidiennement avec des liens directs vers tous vos
    films preferes. Vous allez sur un site qui trouve les films pour
    vous!

  25. Mjflorida Says:

    What model is your 317 holster

  26. Gema Lavell Says:

    It’s in reality a great and helpful piece of information. I’m glad that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  27. flislegger Says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

