First aid kit

by

I think that I have a pretty good first aid kit.  I bought a basic one for maybe $15 or $20.  Then  I added more equipment to it over time.  It’s more than just a first aid kit.  I actually put it together to address many different types of emergencies.  My first aid kit is 8″ * 6″ *3″.  It weighs about a pound.

p10100011

p10100041

On one side – First aid guide, large gauze pad, medium butterfly, large butterfly, small, medium and large bandaids, fabric bandage for fingers, extra large and extra, extra large bandaids.

p10100072The other side-

  • Abdominal pad, more gauze, tegederm dressings, a pack of iodine swabsticks (for before you cut someone.) Assortment of sutures – vicryl 3-0, mono 3-0, ethilon 4-0 and monocryl 3-0

p10100082

  • packs of Advil, tube of Neosporin (I like the Neosporin because it’s a triple anti-biotic so more effective than a solo), the other small tube is Lidocaine 4%, some small packs of Bacitracin, in the green plastic rectangle are Orajel toothache swabs, the blue caplets are diphenhydramine HCL (benadryl – drowsy inducing anti-histamine) you can use the blue ones as a sleep aid too, the red tablets are pseudoephedrine HCL (non drowsy anti-histamine) and Tavist-D  which, in my opinion, is a very strong (drowsy inducing) anti-histamine.

p1010009

  • On the left are Nexcare disposable thermometers.  I highly recommend buying some of these if you ever find them, the purple thing is a travel toothbrush, a pair of scissors, a small pair of forceps, superglue, the small purple jar is a dental filling repair, the small blue one is for tooth caps or crowns, a small sliding razor, nail clippers, a sewing kit, dental floss and first aid tape

p10100102In the center pocket-

  • anti-septic wipes, castille soap towelettes, sting wipes (benzocaine), alcohol pads, some qtips in a baggie, a 1/2 dozen or so rubber bands, acetaminophen, neomycin, tongue depressor, moleskin, cotton applicator, burn gel, sppol of thread and needlep1010011
  • cold compress, two tubes of petroleum jelly, sterile scalpel blade, rubber gloves, bic lighter, oral analgesic (20% benzocaine), lousy pair of tweezers, safety pins, dental floss, roll of gauze, disposable razor, alcohol spray, tube of toothpastep1010012

One pill bottle contains Amox-Clav which is a good strong anti-biotic.  You can die of an infection in a day or two so it’s important to have some sort of anti-biotic

The other pill bottle has buffered aspirin (good for stroke and heart attack) as well as pain, fever and swelling, chlor trimetron anti-histamine and Immodium for diarrhea

Getting out pics.  True I was driving when I took these, but still they were too good to pass up.  You may have to click on the pic to expand it.

deer1The deer have a nicer house then me.  Can you count five does there? They must be eating landscaping.

deer2

And the peepers are out. Spring has arrived.230px-h_crucifer_usgsThere is nothing like being in the woods at night and hearing thousands of these guys calling out.  It’s truly a caucophony.

13 Responses to “First aid kit”

  1. susan Says:

    nice first aid kit. no pain killers? loving the peepers.

  2. tmo Says:

    can i suggest a few other additions?

    sam splint
    ace bandage
    and some 1-2″ wide cloth tape wrapped onto a pen.
    paper to write on
    small first aid book i have a very small one 3×4″ and about 1/4″ thick

  3. First aid cabinet | First Aid Kit Supply Says:

    […] I think that I have a pretty good first aid kit. I bought a basic one for maybe $15 or $20. Then I added more equipment to it over time. It’s more than just a first aid kit. I actually put it together to address many different types of … First Aid News […]

  4. Abraham Says:

    Susan – you are right there prob should be some pain killers in there. Nothing like the sweet spring music of peepers.

    TMO – excellent suggestions. The kit you see isn’t the main one. It’s more like a travel/hiking kit. My SO is a nurse and she has a huge kit in a backpack with much more than you see here.

  5. First aid bag | First Aid Kit Supply Says:

    […] I think that I have a pretty good first aid kit. I bought a basic one for maybe $15 or $20. Then I added more equipment to it over time. It’s more than just a first aid kit. I actually put it together to address many different types of … First Aid News […]

  6. utteldNeels Says:

    Great site this hotdogjam.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  7. Timaawart Says:

    FANTASTIC!

  8. Ex Back Says:

    If you want to hear a reader’s feedback 🙂 , I rate this article for 4/5. Decent info, but I have to go to that damn yahoo to find the missed bits. Thanks, anyway!

  9. driellino Says:

    brill site this hotdogjam.wordpress.com excellent to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  10. GYGIELFWREFLY Says:

    I’ll share it on Twitter.

  11. driellino Says:

    formidable site this hotdogjam.wordpress.com nice to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  12. Dan Says:

    That is a nice kit. This sounds strange but a great thing to have to stop bleeding is ceyanne pepper. It does not sting but it is a GREAT blood equalizer and can even be used to stop blood in gunshots.

  13. Great Infant Says:

    I do think that is one of the most considerable information and facts personally. Exactly what glad examining a person’s post. Although wish to commentary upon a few widespread issues, The site style is fantastic, this articles or blog posts is really wonderful : Chemical. Excellent approach, many thanks

Leave a Reply

