Coleman whitegas lantern

by

I hope you know how to use Coleman whitegas equipment, but if you don’t this entry is for you. Coleman makes all kinds of products for the outdoors.  Let’s focus on Coleman’s whitegas appliances in general and Coleman whitegas lanterns in particular.  As far as I know all of Coleman’s whitegas stoves and lanterns run basically the same way.  As a fuel, I like whitegas.  It seems to last a long time, i.e. it doesn’t go bad, and in my experience works pretty well at cold temperatures.   I’ve used both whitegas stoves and lanterns winter camping and never had a problem lighting them.  I have had problems with propane stoves in the cold.   You don’t have to buy some European equipment.  Coleman is proven bulletproof.

This is a Coleman Peak 1 lantern.

lantBecause it’s a dual fuel lantern it will run off of whitegas or unleaded gas.  Flexibility is a good thing in just about all circumstances.  It’s really designed for backpacking because it’s pretty small.  I’d say this model holds maybe 1/2 pint of fuel and can run between 3-5 hours depending on how high you turn it up.

Coleman also makes a two mantle (more to follow) lantern that burns as bright as any electric light in your house.  Downside it uses more fuel and is quite a bit heavier.  The two mantles are great for car camping and canoeing.

The parts-

lant1The white thing that’s hanging in the glass chimney area is the mantle.  This is a one mantle lantern.  Two mantle lanterns have two mantles hanging side by side.  The mantles are fragile so you can’t bang the lantern around too much or you’ll be replacing a lot of mantles.  In this picture the brass thing to the right of the mantle is the generator.  Fuel gets sucked up from the tank, heats up in the generator, gets turned into a mist then mixes with air in the glass chimney area and ignites which makes the mantle glow.  Till the generator gets heated up Coleman stuff doesn’t work right so don’t worry if it sputters a bit when you first light Coleman whitegas equipment.

The silver metal thing facing front is the pump.  This is how you pressurize the fuel in the tank so that it gets forced up to burn.  You turn it counterclockwise to loosen it and righty tighty.

This is where you pour the fuel into the tank.

lant2You notice how this cap has a strap attached to it so I can’t lose it?  They sell extra caps for a reason.  Either make sure that you have a strap or buy some replacement caps.  Otherwise I guarantee that you will drop it and lose it.  I can see it happening to me, drop the cap on the ice and the cap unimaginably lands on its side and rolls 45 feet like a Tiger Woods putt right into the only hole on the ice for 1/4 mile in every direction.  It’s one of those strikes of bad luck that you couldn’t do again if someone offered you a million $’s.  But I digress…

After you fill it with fuel and replace the cap tightly….lant3Then you unscrew the pump handle and pull it up.  You place your thumb over the little hole on top of the pump handle and pump it a bunch of times, maybe 5, 10, 15 or 25.  It depends on how much fuel is in the tank.  You’ll feel it get tougher and tougher to pump as you pressurize it.  Don’t force it, but you want it to be pressurized so don’t stop until you feel resistance.  Then at that point you push the handle all the way in and tighten it up.  Remember, just like in politics, righty tighty and lefty loosey.

lantOn the left you see the control knob.  It’s that black thing.  You kind of have to push it into turn it.  The way it’s pointed now, 9 towards 3, is off.  You push it in and turn it so that it’s pointing 3 towards 9 to light it and all the points in between control the brightness. I didn’t mention it earlier, but you see that nice metal handle?  That’s nice and useful.  To remove the glass chimney you stretch one side of the metal handle out of the hole it sits in then you pull the cap off and then you can remove or replace the glass.  Just like the Chiltons manual says, “Reassemble in reverse order.”

So you finished filling it, pumping and now you know how to turn it on.  Light your match and stick it through this hole in the bottom of the glass chimney area

lant41So you got your lit match stuck up the hole, now you push in that black control knob and turn it all the way to the light position.  You should hear a hissing as the pressure in the tank forces the fuel up the generator and out the mantle.  You may have to get your lit match right up close to the mantle.  Be careful not to poke your match through the mantle though. The mantle will kind of glow and sputter. Coleman stuff takes a few seconds to really get running the way it should.

At this point I always find it’s a good time to give the lantern a few more pumps so unscrew the pump handle, pull it out, thumb over hole and give it a few more pumps.  Notice how the glow on the mantle changes?  Learn from it.  Screw the handle back in and if it seems like it’s pretty well caught you can use the black knob to turn it down a bit.   You may have to give it a few more pumps.  As long as you have a whitegas unit lantern/stove going you have to pay attention to it and pump it every once in a while.  It takes a little while to get used to it.  After five uses you’ll be an expert.

lant6Pretty bright, aye?

To remove the glass chimney-

lant711First you pull one end of the wire handle out of the hole it sits in.  Then bend the other side of the handle out of its hole.  Now that the handle is free.

lant8Then remove the black cap from the top of the lantern.

lant9Then you  can remove the glass chimney to get to the mantle.  Replacing a mantle is fine work.  They sell two kinds, ones that you need to tie and ones that are already looped through and you just have to pull the threads to tighten the loop.  The latter is easier to use so those are the ones I prefer, but if you have good eyes and good fingers you can save a few cents and get the kind that you need to tie yourself.

  • Other manufacturer’s may be fine.  I have Coleman.  I like Coleman.  The only problem I had with a Coleman product was when the generator on my little hiking Peak 1 stove got clogged from years of use.  I was able to buy a new generator for $15 and fix it myself.  Easy to do.lant7
  • The first time you use a mantle lantern out of the box you have to do something kind of strange to it.  You need to set it on fire.  No, not the lantern, the mantle. These are the mantles.  You want to have at least four times more mantles than you ever think you may need.  I have some in the box that I store the lantern in, but I also ducktaped some to the bottom of the lantern too.  If you are camping or on a river there will always be someone who forgot to bring an extra mantle and is looking to get one.  So the first time you use the lantern you have to tie a mantle to the outlet where the gas is emitted.  Pull the metal handle out, remove the cap from the top of the lantern and tie the mantle on where it belongs.    Then replace the glass and cap.  Now the neat thing, you light the brand new mantle on fire. No fuel needed.  You just stick a match through the ignition hole and set the new mantle ablaze.  Let it burn out.  It will keep hanging there.  I’m still amazed how you use the ashes of the mantle as a filament.  The mantle ash is what glows.  I don’t understand it, but it works.
  • Remember it operates under pressure so if you go to remove the fuel cap it will hiss at you as the pressure is released.
  • YOU CAN ONLY USE WHITEGAS EQUIPMENT OUTSIDE.

Get outside-

p29Just a little snowy cabin in the woods.  I’m liking that stone chimney.

p35

I’m lichen this picture.

20 Responses to “Coleman whitegas lantern”

  1. Survivalist News » Abraham’s Blog: Coleman whitegas lantern Says:

    […] Coleman whitegas lantern « Abraham’s Blog By Abraham […]

  2. Mayberry Says:

    My folks had one of those for camping trips when I was a kid. I’ve got a 2 mantle propane jobber now, but I’d like to get a whitegas lantern too…. Added to the list….

  3. Abraham Says:

    Sweet memories, huh Mayberry. Just thinking of camping equipment gives me the hankering. Instead today I’m shoveling heavy, wet snow. The piels at the end of my driveway are at least five feet tall. I must have moved two tones of snow so far today. GD plow truck!!

    Thanks for stopping by. I check out your blog EVERY day.

  4. Jim Muller Says:

    I recently discovered your blog and wanted to bring your attention to a winter camping resource that you might find interesting and worth relaying to your readers – http://www.WinterCampers.com

    There is a comprehensive collection of Winter Camping Articles from varied journals and newspapers.

    The discussion of Winter Camping Skills includes an article on How to Get Started Winter Camping, there are special tips on Leave No Trace for Winter Campers, there are Trip Logs and Photos from past adventures, how to build snow shelters, advanced Winter Camping Tips, Winter Camping Recipes and a Winter Camping Video.

    Winter Camping Gear includes several gear reviews, a Sample Gear List, a discussion of The Ten Essentials and examples of What’s In My Pack? by different winter campers.

    The Lighter Side of Winter Camping includes: a collection of Winter and Wilderness Survival Quizzes, a tongue in cheek Winter Camping Application, Winter Camping Poems, Winter Camping Quotes and the Top Ten List Reasons to Go Winter Camping.

    The BLOG has the latest winter camping news, pictures and chatter.

    Please give it your consideration.

  5. The Self Reliant Web Digest #4 : Real Self Reliance Says:

    […] Coleman whitegas latern (Abraham’s Blog) – If you don’t know how to use a white gas latern, check it out. […]

  6. Backwoods Engineer Says:

    Thanks for the rundown.

    Here’s how it works: Mantle cloth contains thorium, which glows when heated. When turned to ash, the thorium can be heated by the flame to high temperatures, where it glows nice and white 🙂

  7. Coleman stoves « Abraham’s Blog Says:

    […] By Abraham I figured I’d follow up my other entry on Coleman lanterns with one on Coleman whitegas stoves.    Coleman makes rugged equipment.  It’s not unusual […]

  8. TR Says:

    Brings back fond memories of camping with my father, have used and abused Coleman products lanters & stoves for many years, they are great. Thanks for the memories, now time to get to making some new ones. Also thanks Mr.Muller for the winter camping site, will be checking that out. While I don’t camp in the winter (don’t camp much at all anymore) I do live way up in the mountains of CO and any kiind of helpfull tips on making winter more liveable. Power outages up here are not rare at all, but every year when it happens 3-4 times people seem to be caught unaware with no plan (only electric heat, no camp stove, no stored food) hell I even had a friend stop by last time it was out for a couple days after seeing light @ my house and borrow candles. People just don’t know what it is to be prepared anymore, and they are going to be in a world of hurt when things really start to fall appart. I keep telling friends to read your blog (and survivalblog) some have and are starting to get the hint. Others, well will be freezing to death in their own homes waiting for the Gummit to save them.

  9. Coleman Camping lantern Says:

    hey!you have a nice blog Abraham!I learned in some ways,,please post more blogs please!
    when i read this blog it actually reminds me of my funniest and fond times when we camp,i was with my family and it was held in North Carolina. That was so fun.

  10. Mikey Says:

    I have used white gas “year round”. The large 2 mantle light and the big green stove for the summer and a peak lantern and stove for the winter (or summer back pack trips). I’m to old now for any distance hike but I still like to take a short hike and cook a hot lunch. I was looking for some info on a OLD Coleman CABIN stove, i.e. before portable and green paint were invented. This stove was to remain in a cabin (usually the ones with out elec.). Has ~1 gal. tank with level and pressure gauge and a ~1 1/2″ wood handle on pump. I want to make it work cause if I have some luck I will be living in a cabin someday. Alaska would be great but that could only happen if I win a lottery.

  11. John Smith Says:

    hey Abraham!Nice blog 🙂 last year i bought a coleman camping lantern it was a propane lantern, it was nice and easy to use,but since i have a kid and i am planning to take my kid along with,what can you suggest? do you think it is okay to use propane lantern?i need your opinion..please get back to me!post some more!! 🙂

  12. Richard Worley Says:

    I just found lots of interesting lantern pics here, http://vintagecolemanlanterns.blogspot.com/

  13. Coleman Lantern Says:

    Ah yes, the rigerous pumping of fuel lanterns, bring back some great memories. Very fun blog to read.

  14. Mike Says:

    I purchases a peak 1 lantern at a yard sale ($10 mistake). When I got it home it wouldn’t light. I was using the wrong size mantle at the time. So I picked up the right mantles from Colman ($12 w/shipping). Still no flame. Now I have replaces the generator ($15). Still will not light. I am invested so what do I do next?

  15. bali wedding, bali wedding planner, bali wedding organizer Says:

    bali wedding, bali wedding planner, bali wedding organizer…

    […]Coleman whitegas lantern « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  16. DuroStar Engine Says:

    DuroStar Engine…

    […]Coleman whitegas lantern « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  17. camping stove butane Says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all of us you really recognize what you are speaking approximately!

    Bookmarked. Please additionally talk over with my web site =).

    We will have a hyperlink exchange arrangement between us

  18. post-20639 Says:

    Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an
    established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thank you

  19. lose weight keto Says:

    Hello friends, how is all, and what you desire to say regarding this paragraph, in my view its
    genuinely remarkable in support of me.

  20. memory foam mattress Says:

    Useful info. Fortunate me I discovered your web site by chance,
    and I am shocked why this accident did not came about earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

