Wood stove

by

For those of you that haven’t used a woodstove this post will be about my woodstove and how I get her going.  Hopefully, it will let you know what I do and don’t like about my stove and also provide the basics about the parts of a stove and how to get one running.

A woodstove is basically a metal box.  They all have a vent where air comes in to burn and then the smoke is vented out the back through the stovepipe.  There aren’t that many moving parts.

  • A “valve” on the stovepipe that controls how much smoke (and heat) goes up and out.
  • A “valve” on the front of the stove that controls how much air is allowed in.  The more air you let in the faster your wood will burn.  There are all sorts of vents.  Some slide and some turn.
  • The firebox.  This is where you load the wood.
  • A handle of some sort to lock the door of the stove closed.

ws13This is my wood stove.  It’s obviously a Nashua.  This company is out of business now.  This particular stove is a big, honking wood stove.  It’s 32″ long * 22″ deep * 35″ tall.  A nice feature is the window so you can see the fire burning.  The knurled metal round things on each side of the Nashua sign are the vents that let air into the stove.  You spin em just like a screw.

ws24Spin em counterclockwise to loosen them and let more air in and spin them clockwise to let less air in.  This is one of the front vents fully open. Notice the space between the back of the vent and the stove.  That’s where the air rushes in that feeds the fire.

ws23This is the other front vent fully closed.  Notice how the back of this vent is snugged tight against the front of the stove.  No space = no air = no fire.

ws11This is the vent on the stovepipe.  This vent controls how much smoke and heat go up the pipe and out.  Imagine a metal pie plate attached to this thing on the inside of the stovepipe.   The metal pie plate runs the same way as the handle.  In this position the pie plate is turned vertically, just like the handle.  This is the full open position.

ws12This is the same vent fully closed.  That pie plate that runs the same way as the handle is now perpendicular to the stovepipe (parallel to the floor) so in this position the pie plate is totally blocking the stovepipe.  This would choke any fire burning in the stove.

ws26This is the handle to the door of the stove.  This is the locked position.

ws28And you flip the handle counterclockwise to unlock the door and open it up.

A neat thing about my stove is that there is a built in fan.   My stove is actually double-walled with an air chamber in the middle, outlets on the front and a fan and inlet on the back of the stove.  It sucks air in the back, that gets warmed in the hollow channel and then gets blown out the front.  This thing cranks!!

ws18This is one of the outlets on the front of the stove.  There is another one on the other side.  When the stove is heated up and I plug the fan in it blows out hot, hot air  at a high volume.

ws17

This is the fan on the back of the stove.  It makes a bit of noise, but it’s not too bad.  It really heats the house.

ws19This is a looksie at the inside with the door flung open.  Pardon the trash, but when you have a stove you start collecting stuff that burns well.

If I’m driving around and I see some fool citizen that pruned his trees, collected fallen brush and then tied them up and left them at curbside for the trash guys to pick up I sure as spit stop and throw the stuff in my car.  It’s beautiful, like a little bundle of campfire that some fool put together all nice and pretty, tied it with a bow and left it for picking.  I don’t get people.  You’re gonna cut branches, bundle em, tie em and haul em out to the street for the town to pick up??  It makes no sense to me.  Save all of our frigging tax $$’s and burn em on your own lawn or garden or haul em out back and dump em in the woods.   Make a stick pile for wildlife.   But I digress. Pallets burn well.  Keep your eyes open for free pallets.  My eyes are always open for foraging stuff.

This is my system.  Building a fire is like cooking – everyone does it differently.  Also like cooking, when you build a fire you want to have all of your ingredients together before you start the fire.  All I do is crumple up a bunch of newspaper on the bottom of the stove.  Don’t scrimp here.  I use at least 1/2 an entire issue.  Then I put a piece of wood running horizontally along the bottom of the stove.  You can’t see the horizontal base log because it is totally covered by crumpled newspaper.  Crumple up more newspaper on top.

ws20Lean some wood on the first piece you put in there.  Maybe a couple of smallish pieces leaning on the whole thing.  More newspaper.  Fire likes to run along the edges of stuff so the more edges (more little pieces and broken and splintered) the better.  Really, you gotta act like you are building a blaze because you are.  Plus, I always feel ashamed if it takes me more than one match to get a fire going.  Any fire.  Even if no one else is looking.   I guess the moral is to build every fire like you only have one match.

Don’t light it yet.  You need to make sure that the vent on the stovepipe is all the way open so make sure it’s pointed vertically and running parallel to the stovepipe.   You also need to open the vents on the front of the stove all the way.   When you first light the stove you want as much air as possible rushing through it.

Now after all the vents are open I light the paper, close the door and flip the handle to lock the door shut.  I then walk away and leave it alone for 10-15 minutes.

ws25Upon my return the fire is usually going.

At this point I’ll open the door slowly just an inch.  If you open the door too fast you’ll get a back draft of smoke in your face and the room.  So you open it an inch, wait a few seconds then open it slowly the rest of the way.  I’ll bang all the wood down a bit and spread out the coals and then I’ll load it up.  I pack it fairly tightly.  Leaning wood works well.  You don’t want to pack your wood in like you’re building a brick wall.  You want some air spaces between the logs.  Close the door.

Now I’ll turn the stove down a bit by turning the vent on the stovepipe diagonally so it isn’t fully open or fully closed.  I’ll spin the vents on the front down a bit too.  The secret here is the perfect balance between intake and exhaust so you get the maximum heat while burning your wood as slowly as possible.  Don’t goof on me, but it really is like the Zen of burning.  I mean once you get past that initial burst of heat when you first get it going you want to turn it down nice and low so that the pile of wood in there is just simmering slowly.  Like cooking.

After a few hours when it’s time to load the stove again you have to open the vent on the stovepipe again before you open the door.  Otherwise when you open the door the draft will be reversed and smoke will come into your face and room.  It becomes habit – open vent on stovepipe, flip handle, open door an inch, wait a couple of seconds and then open door rest of way.  Spread the coals out.  Load it.  Shut it.  Lock it.  Close the stovepipe vent down a bit again by turning it diagonally.

Summary:

  • The whole thing with a wood stove is air movement.  You gotta get the air in your house moving around.  I have two other fans that I sometimes use in addition to the built in one in the stove.
  • Humid air holds more heat than hot air.  Get a humidifier or put teapots on the stove top.  I think humid air is better for humans to breath too.
  • My stove is kind of big so it takes a while to heat up, stays warm a long time and burns a lot more wood than a smaller stove.  It can burn for 12 hours on one load of wood.  I’d rather have one small one at each end of the house, but then there are two fires to feed.
  • I think having a stove is great.  It’s a different kind of heat.  It really feels warm, like the old fashioned radiators.  I’ve never been a fan of forced hot air; there’s no radiant heating.  It’s also a good backup to the forced hot water oil system.  Even if the electric goes out the stove will still heat up a good 1/3 of the house.
  • Another way to cook when your whatever else is on the fritz.
  • I clean my own stovepipe.  It’s not that big a deal.  The brushes are cheap.  You definitely don’t need to pay anyone unless you have a high or steep roof.  It just takes a bit of serious monkeying to get it apart and really serious monkeying to put it back together.  Make sure you wear crap clothes and spread a tarp out.
  • Be careful with the ashes.  They stay hot a long time and jeesh even if you think that they are out don’t ever empty them into a combustible container.  Wood ash is high in potassium and it’s an alkaline like lime so I add it to my compost and directly on the garden (out of season cuz it will burn roots and plants).  Wood ashes are also used to make lye to make soap.  Do not burn shiny magazines or Sunday circulars.  The inks used in shiny stuff is bad.  Anytime you deal with wood ash, or any fine dust, make sure you wear a dust mask.
  • Make sure you got the safety stuff – fire extinguisher and smoke and CO detectors.
  • Build every fire like you only have one match.  All that means is to make sure you got all of your kindling, fuel, paper and whatever else all together before you light it.  Just like cooking, you don’t want to get halfway through cooking something and realize that you need to run out to the store.
  • Every stove is different.  They’re like women.  You need to get to know one before you can handle her correctly.  And with a stove learn that balance between intake and exhaust.
  • Be leery of stovepipes that twist and turn.  In my experience you are always fighting to get a good draft going.
  • Having a woodstove is work.
  • You know what else looks good to me are those soapstone stoves.  They’re supposed to hold heat a long time.
  • Not a fan of the pellet stove.  They seem too specialized to me.  I mean they work fine as long as you got electric and pellets.

I’d recommend that everyone get a wood stove.

By now you know the chant, ‘get outside everyday.’

ws3This was my first skate of the season.  Someone abandoned a fishing hole.  Made me wish that I brought my traps and stopped for some shiners.  Stuck the hockey stick in, hmmmm, about six inches.  That’s pretty thick.  The ice was really nice and smooth.  Nice efficient way to travel.  One kick and you can glide 6, 7 or 8 feet.

ws2These guys had a fire and a bunch of traps set up.  My buddy told me that they got a five and a seven pound bass.  We skated around the whole perimeter of this lake.  I love the rythym of skating, skiing and biking.

150 Responses to “Wood stove”

  1. Survivalist News » Abraham’s Blog: Wood stove Says:

    […] Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog For those of you that haven’t used a woodstove this post will be about my woodstove and how I get her going. Hopefully, it will let you know what I do and don’t like about my stove and also provide the basics about the parts of a stove and how to get one running. […]

  2. Mike Says:

    “Be careful with the ashes”

    The ashes can be viable for DAYS. My parents tell me of a story from before I was born on this. They would spread the ashes from their stove in a meadow outside the house to fertilized the flowers there. They would let the ashes sit in a metal pail for a few days before spreading them in the field. One day, ashes that had sat for half a week started a minor brush fire in the field.

    Now we keep them for a week, and stir them a bit so they all get air exposure and a chance to completely cool before using them as fertilizer for the garden.

  3. Natog Says:

    My mom still heats 1/2 the house with wood, she just got another cord delivered ($275!!!!) I want to put on in here, but the town’s a bunch of bitches about that so for now I’ll just look for one to slap in if the lights go out for a long time.

    Excellent article!

  4. Subreal - Timothy Aste » Link Roundup Says:

    […] My wood stove […]

  5. The Self Reliant Web Digest #3 : Real Self Reliance Says:

    […] Wood Stove (Abraham’s Blog) – I just discovered this blog this week. He seems very realistic (in a good way). As the title suggests, this post is about the usage and maintenance of a wood stove. […]

  6. Chimney Guy Says:

    Dude, There are so many things wrong with this stove it is not even funny. Your chimney pipe is too close to the wall. The back baffle of the stove is suspect and should be inspected on a regular basis (monthly.) Burning newspaper will float up and start your impending chimney fire. All wood put into this unit should be hardwoods, split and dried at least six months and kept no longer than eighteen months. The pallets are a complete “Don’t” for any stove in a home. For God’s sake, get on the net and go to the National Chimney Sweep Guild to look up the name of someone near you that is certified and can help keep your home in one piece.

  7. Soapstone Woodstove Says:

    Looks interesting. Chimney Guy has a lot of points here. You may try to burn quality wood. Be careful with fire. Good luck!

  8. Abraham Says:

    I should have been clearer. I don’t burn pallets or unseasoned wood in the stove. Burning either in a woodstove would be a bad idea. I collect that stuff to burn out back in my fire pit. I do start fires with newspapers. I think newspaper is probably safer to use than waxy firestarters.

  9. Gary Fortier Says:

    Hello .. I have the same Nashua stove … it’s awesome . it came with the house i purchased … come to find out .. these was never a burning permit filed with the town … I can’t get a permit without a ul # … THE METAL TAG WITH THE INFO IS MISSING ON MY STOVE …. FIGURES! Can anyone help .
    I even call Underwriters Lab .. they said because the Nashua Co. is out of business – they cant help … please let me know

  10. CoyoteQCP Says:

    We’ve been heating with a Vermont Castings Vigilant for 10 years (love wood heat!). We’re about to upgrade and are considering soapstone. Anyone have a guiding comment? Hearthstone v Jotul?

  11. Tony Says:

    For Gary Fortier: I also obtained my Nashua NFP 2 with my purchase of an old house in Vermont. I’ve had it for twenty years and love it so much that when we purchased another old house, the stove made the trip also. The UL data you need is this:
    Nashua model NFP 2
    Arnold Greene Testing Laboratories/CONAM
    Natick MA. 01760
    Tested 12/78 to ANSI/UL 1482

    Hope this helps.

  12. MultiFuel Stoves Says:

    Wow what an amazing post! I have already printed this out and will pass it on to my friend.

    I’m impressed with your lighting tips. I also say that lighting a fire is like cooking.. i have a real strange way of doing it – but hey it still burns so who cares.

    Would you be interested in writing a follow up post to this on our new blog? Send me an email you would.

  13. Gideon Williamsons Says:

    You covered just about everything in this post. Here’s a funny story that happened last winter. FYI: our family has heated our home for over 50 years but my wife is a newbie.

    We place our ashes in a metal bucket and let it sit outside for several days before we move it to a bag. Several times my wife gets antsy and wants to rush this process only to have our neighbor call and tell us the bag is on fire.

    OK, now she does it one better. This time she puts the bag into the garbage can I come home one day to see smoke coming from our garage. My heart is racing as you can imagine and when I open the door thick smoke billows out for hours. What happened is the garbage can smoldered and melted. So, I purchase another one and plead with her not to put the ash in the garbage until “garbage night”.

    She follows my advice and takes it up to the top of the road. Well guess what? No lie, the neighbors by the road called us to let us know our garbage can is on fire.

    Morrow of the story: follow the advice in this blog because it’s the only way to go.

    Wood Stoves Guide

  14. Tim Aste » Blog Archive » Link Roundup Says:

    […] My wood stove […]

  15. mike Says:

    Hi
    I made some of these stoves, they can really generate some heat , we also had two prototypes in the shop .and we heated the place with these, burning old pallets. you can get them so hot, you can melt aluminum pennies on the top. Nh precision bought the company 1984 . and they are doing well. no longer making stoves. precision sheet metal for the computer ind.

  16. Doyle Says:

    Interesting items here. I have a comment about ashes.. After around ten years of dumping the ashes around the yard and garden in various places, I bought a metal garbage can with lid and keep our ashes in it. And keep the can on a couple of big blocks to keep it out of the snow and ice. It was a bit pricey but it is worth it to keep the ashes dry and safe. (Make sure to keep the lid on) We don’t need any more in the yard, but when there is ice, they work excellent to sift over it and makes it absolutely nonskid. Also, good to get the car unstuck on slippery snow or ice. We take our ashes to the local dump where branches and wood waste are burned. PLEASE be extra careful about dumping ashes in garbage. I don’t think it’s safe at all. They can be hazardous for many days. Once I heard that a garbage truck set on fire and I wouldn’t be surprised if it wasn’t someone’s ashes. Could have been a disaster. Once my husband put some wood into the fire while he was wearing work gloves. A couple of hours later the hallway was issuing some smoke. After some investigation, I discovered that the glove he had stuffed in his jacket pocket had picked up a small hot coal on the back of the fingertip. Thank God we were home, or there could have been a house fire here. So don’t wear gloves when putting wood into the fire.

    With common sense and basic safety practices, burning wood is safe and a wonderful way to be warm and cozy in the wintertime.

  17. kate Says:

    Does any one now how hot you r suppose to burn your stove and how long you burn on that temp?

  18. kate Says:

    Does anyone no how hot you r suppose to burn your stove and how long you burn on that temp ?

  19. Anna Says:

    One of the big problems with a wood stove is that you can’t put it in a mobile home — it’s just not safe. We finally worked around this by getting an exterior wood stove that sits outside the trailer but feeds hot air into the house. I highly recommend it to anyone who doesn’t have a traditional home but still wants the benefits of wood heat.

  20. Rick Kulpa Says:

    We also have a Nashua nfp-2 wood stove that came with the farmhouse. We also heat the house with it, four years now. The stove was installed for heating the house with heat runs to two areas of the house before a geothermal furnace was install to take its place for heating the house. I have found this stove to have its plus and minus. First off the stove gets to hot with heat and there is no real way to ajust the heat that comes thought the heat runs. And you can’t but parts for it. Just after market. We are adding onto the farmhouse with an addition taking the sq, feet from 1200 to just a little over 4000 sq. feet living space. I do have plans are rebuilding the stove with hopes that if I reinstall it to better fix our needs for secound heat system this stove will last some time to come.
    Hey if anyone knows of a place to buy parts for this stove email me @ kulpahomes@earthlink.net

  21. Jim Klee Says:

    I, too, have an old Nashua woodstove, purchased in the late 1970s. It is my best purchase ever. It has cracks in the metal from overfiring it with red oak timbers salvaged from a coal mine. My fault, not the stove’s.

    Once I broke the glass, and had a hard time finding a store to replace it. Now I’m careful with it. I don’t overheat it.

    I’m using it right now. Another benefit is that in the night you don’t need to turn on a light…the fire shines throught the glass and illuminates the room.

    When I tried to order a new stove, I found out they don’t make them anymore. Very sad. This is a quality product, unlike some of the cast metal Chinese junk on the market nowadays.

  22. John Says:

    Please can some one give me an advice

    I am planning to install a wood stove but I have to make the vent pipe horizontal instead of vertical. Can this work with a wood stove.

  23. Abraham Says:

    I’m not expert, but with my experience it ain’t gonna work. You want a good draft with a woodstove. The more twists and turns in the stovepipe the worse the draft. A horizontal pipe I don’t think is gonna cut it.

  24. ED Says:

    I HAVE A NASHUA BUT MINE DOES NOT HAVE THE GLASS DOOR AND IS POSSIBLE TO FIND ONE ALSO SHOULD THERE BE SOME INSULATION BETWEEN THE DOOR AND THE STOVE MINE HAS NONE

  25. Jason Webb Says:

    If you buy a pellet stove, prepare yourself for some manual labor.

    Regards/-
    Jason Webb

  26. Holyfirenow2 Says:

    Very interesting read. As these stoves are not longer produced would it not be a wise investment to install an EPA approved /qualified outdoor water furnace. The mess and the danger are kept outside. The emmissions are lower. They are a green way of heating your home. In fact they can heat several buildings with the same amount of wood that the old stoves use to heat one building. Check out the Shaver boiler or the portageandmainboilers.com I love their websites they have such good information. I know there are other companies out there but I like to follow the best.

  27. wayne Says:

    need new glass for modle nfp2

  28. Pipe Stove Says:

    Very awesome article. I learnt alot from reading this, was worth my time.
    I have bookmarked this article so i can keep going back to it if i forget anything, because im like that lol!

    The pictures helped me alot, thank you so much!

  29. woody stove Says:

    I just recieved the same Nashua wood stove built in 1978 from a man who says he never used it. When I fired it up the smoke began to come out of the side heating vents. Any idea why this would happen? The stove is in new condition.

  30. Abraham Says:

    Woody stove- I can only think of two things. Maybe if it’s brand new there is oil or some sort of lubricant that needs to burned off. You know like using anything for the first time. The other thought I have ain’t so good. If the stove was dropped maybe the firebox got cracked and is leaking into what should be the sealed hot air chambers. Does the smoke coming out smell like wood smoke?

  31. Wood Stoves Says:

    Nice looking Nashua! I wonder how old it is? And what are you using for wood?

  32. John Says:

    What do you guys think is the best brand for faux antique wood burning stoves?

  33. jared Says:

    John-Short horizontal runs from a wood stove are actually pretty common. However, the run should be as short as possible, because as Abraham mentioned, a wood fire needs a good draft, and horizontal runs and turns slow things down. Having said that, our Jotul stove has been operating for 23 years. There is a 4 foot vertical run out of the stove, connected to a 4 foot horizontal run that connects the stove to the outside chimney. This was done because we have high winds here and we could stabilize the chimney better rising up along a wall than we could straight out the roof.
    Go vertical as soon as you can, when you can. Our stove came with very specific information from the manufacturer regarding how long and which way runs could go. They didn’t mince words.
    Good Luck, be safe,
    jared

  34. jared Says:

    Ed- I’m not clear on weather or not you have a door, or if you have a solid one like mine and your looking for a glass one instead (good luck with that), but in either case, there is supposed to be a glass fiber bead, probably about 1/2″ or so that is cemented to the door. You can get the stuff, along with the cement, at some hardware stores, usually sold by the inch. Find a wood stove supplier in your area, they’re sure to have it.
    Be safe,
    jared

  35. kyle.robertson42@yahoo.com Says:

    i just moved into a house with a nashua wood burning stove and the wires to the blower have been cut the only thing left is about 1 foot of cord coming off of the blower motor. the rest of the cord is MIA. i have no idea how to wire in a new plug or use the wiring that is still attached to the motor. can anyone help me??

  36. Dana Says:

    Nice. Definitely agree with getting outside every day. Makes for better health and better moods, too.

  37. Ted Says:

    Hi, I have had a Nashua for the last ten years and have used it in three houses including my current one where it is very close to the center of about 4500 square feet and keeps the entire structure at 50 degrees plus (the areas near it can be in the eighties if I shut a door for an hour). I put the stovepipe damper at 1 o’clock when firing up and once it is going hot, it is usually at half past 2. I burn wood that has been seasoned for 9 months to 2 years. If you use wet wood, you will create mess of kreosote inside the firebox and right up the chimney.

    Does any have a picture of the grate inside a coal model? I might want to try coal in mine.

  38. Nancy Says:

    Anybody know why it’s so hard to find a variety of wood burning stoves with solid cast iron doors? I don’t want glass in my wood stove door; strictly for functionality, not asthetics. Suggestions?

  39. tara schaller Says:

    i have the same stove and am wondering what it might be worth? i am hoping to barter it for some yard work. any ideas??

  40. christine Says:

    “Be careful with the ashes”
    i think it;s better to leave 1-3inch ash at the bottom of the wood burner. it may help to keep the heat.

  41. astove Says:

    Nice. Definitely agree with what you said in this article. thanks for the post

  42. Wood Burning Stoves Bedford Says:

    […] A Cheaper Way To heat Your Home? Invest In Multi Fuel StovesKingsley New Charnwood Stove StockistsWood stovevar switchTo5x=true;stLight.options({publisher:'4a19b968-e0cf-4f66-8834-b36ff413457e'});var […]

  43. Devid hussy Says:

    Rising energy costs have prodded Americans to buy not only more fuel-efficient cars, but also wood pellets, which generally are made from sawdust and wood shavings, as fuel to heat their homes. About 800,000 homeowners are already using them.

    contemporary wood burning stoves

  44. Lee Says:

    Nashua made a great stove…I found an NFP1 last year at a garage sale and decided to try it out…it works great!. It heated a 2000 sq ft house through a long and cold northern Indiana winter. This stove really puts out the heat like no other stove I’ve ever had (I’ve owned several). The angled rear baffel creates a long fire path that does a great job at capturing heat in the unique air manifold and helps it burn very clean even though it’s not an EPA certified stove. It’s a solid stove that’s built to last. I modified mine to include an air-wash system that keeps the glass clean and added a varriable speed blower.
    This one’s a keeper.

  45. Wood Stove??? | Wood Burning Stoves Says:

    […] What do you think? Answer below! Mouse here for Related LinksWood stove […]

  46. Anonymous Says:

    Hey LEE, Tell me more about the air wash system u made. I just bought a really nice NFP1 and would like to keep the glass clean.

  47. Lee Says:

    I looked at several new stoves to see how their air-wash systems worked first and determined that I could create a similar effect with my Nashua by bringing in fresh air over the top of the glass and directing it downward over the glass. First, I replaced the original glass with a new (and safer) piece of high temp glass. Next, I removed the top glass bracket and the gasket material at the top edge of the glass. This created an 1/8″gap at the top edge of the glass that the outside air can enter the stove. From the front of the stove this is conceled (and protected) by the outside upper arch of the stove. Then I attached a 1 1/2″ x 12″ piece of sheet metal on the inside where the top bracket was that is bent at an angle (longwise) to direct the air on to the glass through about a 3/8″gap (this seemed to be the amount of gap the new stoves are using).

    Once the fire is burning well I close down the lower air intakes most of the way and use the air-wash gap for combustion air. The results are very good.. the glass stays clean much longer and it’s improved the burn time and the combustion in the firebox significantly…I now get lots of secondary burning at the top of the firebox along the baffle. Also, I’ve had NO smoke escape through the airwash system.

  48. Anonymous Says:

    Very nice…ty Do you have any pics?

  49. Lee Says:

    I’ve got pics but don’t know how to post them in a reply…any ideas?

  50. What causes wood burning stoves to drip black tar down the outside of the chimney? | Wood Burning Stove and More Says:

    […] d&#959 &#1091&#959&#965 feel? An&#1109w&#1077r below! Mouse here for Related LinksWood stove Tags: Black, Burning, causes, Chimney, down, drip, outside, Stoves, […]

  51. Wood Stoves for Sale – Buying Time for Mother Earth and Homeowners | Wood Stoves for Sale Says:

    […] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#splittitlebox {text-align: center;}#singletitlebox {text-align: center;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Finding out Exactly where You’ll be able to Find out About wood burning stoves for saleWonderful and Practical Tips on Discovering More Pertaining to wood burning stoves for saleGood and Advantageous Tips on Understanding A lot more Concerning wood burning stoves for saleDetermining The place It is possible to Discover In relation to wood burning stoves for saleSale Wood Burning Stove Inserts For Fireplaces on CheapWood Burner HeaterJual Baju Online – Page 1Wood stove […]

  52. Decide on a Multi Fuel Stove | Paraffin Bath Treatment Says:

    […] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#splittitlebox {text-align: center;}#singletitlebox {text-align: center;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#FFFFFF;border-color:#FFFFFF;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Multi Fuel StovesNew Dunsley Enviroburn 5 Multi Fuel StoveFirefox Multi Fuel Stove in Ideal HomeWhich is the most efficient multi fuel stove for a house in the UK.?All about multi fuel stoves.The Best Multi fuel Stove for Camping and Mountaineering – Mountain Gear BlogImproving the carbon footprint of your multifuel stove – Adrian HollisterMaintain the Glass Clean on You Wood StoveWood stove […]

  53. brian Says:

    Hi, I installed the same burner recently, do you have a problem with the glass sooting up or do I need to need to replace the gasket on the window. I replaced the door one already and still have problem. Thanks!

  54. Funny Pic Dumps Says:

    Funny Pic Dumps…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  55. Anonymous Says:

    I had a Nashua stove, also..same model, it was in the house when I bought it in 1995. We had a house fire (not the from the stove) and I had to replace the stove with a Quadra fire. The Quadra fire is ok, but I miss the Nashua 😦

  56. Your Questions About Wood Stove Paint | Wood Stoves for Sale Says:

    […] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#splittitlebox {text-align: center;}#singletitlebox {text-align: center;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } How Much Does It Cost to Install a Fireplace or Wood Stove?Top Three Wood Stoves For Efficient Zone HeatingModern Living with Heat N Glo COSMOS Gas Fireplace InsertWood Stove Chimney Installation Basics Video review #1Top Three Tips on Storing Firewood Safely and EfficientlyWood Stove Chimney Installation Fundamentals Video evaluation #1Wood stove […]

  57. Pellet Stoves Says:

    Pellet Stoves…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  58. music Says:

    music…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  59. Paul Says:

    Abe,
    What model is your Nashua stove? Also looking for installation info on the stove, specifically the distance to combustible materials from the back.We are looking at buying one that is similar? TIA!!

  60. Great Wall Hover Says:

    Great Wall Hover…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  61. Prioritizing in Preparing For Survival | Survival Aids Says:

    […] #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#splittitlebox {text-align: center;}#singletitlebox {text-align: center;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } MY SOLAR POWERED AIR CONDITIONERFirst Residential Solar Powered Air Conditioner Coming To US MarketFirst Residential Solar Powered Air Conditioner Coming To US Marketglobalteamdirect.com — Solar Powered Air ConditioningWood stove […]

  62. Dave Says:

    I have a nashua stove. The door has 2 hinges instead of 3. It measures about 2 inches smaller all the way around than yours Abraham. It heats our whole upstairs of our log house. I’m not sure if I’m putting the door seal gasket in the right place. The groove around the door is about 1/2″ on top and bottom and 3/4″ on both sides. So I put the seal around the inside before the groove and it barely seals the sides. Any info on how to seal the door would be greatly appriciated. Nice site.

    Thanks

  63. Lee Says:

    The Nashua NFP1 has deep channels on the sides of the door so sealing it can be difficult with standard sized gasket ropes. You’ll need to get a thick gasket rope (like 1″) and what I have done is double it up in the side channels.

  64. Urban Landscape Design New York|Greenwalls|Outdoor Living Spaces New York|Suburban Landscape Design New York|Urban Greenroofs Says:

    Urban Landscape Design New York|Greenwalls|Outdoor Living Spaces New York|Suburban Landscape Design New York|Urban Greenroofs…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  65. how much does it cost to paint a car Says:

    how much does it cost to paint a car…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  66. Nashua woodstoves | Bestdealsevero Says:

    […] Wood stove « Abraham’s BlogJan 15, 2009 … This is my wood stove. It’s obviously a Nashua. This company is out of business now. This particular stove is a big, honking wood stove. … […]

  67. Chamberlain Says:

    Chamberlain…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  68. Tips for renting cars Says:

    Tips for renting cars…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  69. видеоуроки по wordpress Says:

    видеоуроки по wordpress…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  70. Marke Says:

    Have had my stove for 8 yrs it is a Nashua also found her laying in a shed in Ohio. Now she is living and burning happily in a 4500 sqft home heating it all by herself from down in the mancave

  71. tara schaller Says:

    is anyone interested in buying a nashua?? i have one that, for years, heated my single family home. i am in need of finances and do not use the unit any longer. one day, hoping to upgrade to pellet, once i can afford a chimney reline.
    i live in eastern mass. and can be contacted via email.
    thanks
    tara

  72. homemade solar panels Says:

    homemade solar cell…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  73. Garage Door Monitor Says:

    Garage Door Monitor…

    Cry me a river. Some people will never be satisfied….

  74. Ted Says:

    Does anyone have any idea what the original front door gasket in a Nashua was like? Pics?

  75. tara schaller Says:

    it was braided asbestos…quite thick maybe 3/4-1in.

  76. Ted Says:

    Does anyone have a pic with the original door gasket in place?

  77. stocks and shares guide Says:

    stocks and shares guide…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  78. Mike Says:

    I would love to buy your NASHUA but I live in Ohio. I’ve used a NASHUA fireplace insert for the past 20 years and it heats half of my house. It burns hot enough that you don’t get the chimney build up. My door glass always smokes up until the fire is hot enough to burn it off. I’m having problems with the air vent on the front sticking to the point you have to hit it to get it open. I guess this is minor knowing I can’t purchase another one.

  79. George Says:

    What would you pay for a Nashua in Ohio? I have one that I would sell for the right price. I have come upon this Nashua but I have a pellet stove currently in my home.

  80. mike Says:

    what condition is your stove in? what’s your bottom dollar?

  81. George Says:

    Great working condition. No structure issues of course. I have two blowers with it, one that connects on the back and another that is a tall cylinder shape that stands off to it’s side while connected. I have $500 in it now.

  82. Woodburning Stove Says:

    Nice one…Thanks for sharing 🙂

  83. pellet Says:

    pellet…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  84. Anonymous Says:

    Hello George
    Where in Ohio are you located. If you’re in reasonable driving distance I might be interested in your stove. I’m not sure if you want to post your email or you phone number here but I’d like to see pictures of your stove.
    Mike

  85. Q&A: How do I build a plenum to collect heat from a wood stove? - Wood Stove Review Says:

    […] Wood stove […]

  86. gas fire place repair Says:

    gas fire place repair…

    […]Wood stove « Abraham’s Blog[…]…

  87. Bill Says:

    I have a Nashua woodstove for sale that is looking for a good home. Live in central NH and am beginning to downsize. Anyone interested in more info?

  88. Anonymous Says:

    Does anyone have any recommendations for a good woodstove polish? I have an old Nashua woodstove that I would like to restore to a nice black finish.

    Nashua stoves work great, to bad they stopped making them.

  89. Lee Says:

    No polish needed…Nashua’s are not made of cast iron.
    Just sand off any rust and spray with a high temp black paint like Rust-oleum (they make a flat and satin finish…satin will show any imperfections more).

  90. Lara Says:

    The secret here is the perfect balance between intake and exhaust so you get the maximum heat while burning your wood as slowly as possible.houtkachel

  91. Albert Says:

    A wood-burning stove is a heating appliance capable of burning wood fuel and wood-derived biomass fuel, such as wood pellets.
    Kachelzaak.nl.

  92. discount chimney supply Says:

    Nice blog. Always remember to have a proper chimney or chimney liner and properly maintain the system.

  93. Anonymous Says:

    You can get glass for you stove at http://www.woodstove-fireplaceglass.com

  94. Mike Monaghan Says:

    be safe and use the correct glass!!

  95. tara schaller Says:

    anyone in mass. who might be interested in my nashua. let me know.

  96. Fred Hogan Says:

    I Have had a nashua Wood stove for 30 Years Still Works Great, Lynn Ma. Heats my whole house.

  97. Anonymous Says:

    I have been running a large Nashua for ten years. If I use reasonably dry wood, my stainless flue does not accumulate much kreosote at all. The heat keeps my kitchen toasty and the heat eminates throughout and additional 2000 square feet. Just picked up a small Nashua for my sister.

  98. Lee Says:

    Great to hear about all these old Nashuas that are still in use…they made a high quality stove that really puts out the heat. I’m on the 5th year of heating my 1,800 Sq. ft. ranch with my NFP-1 that was built in the late 70’s or early 80’s.

    I modified my air-intake to include an air-wash system that keeps my glass clean (see my Oct. 4 2011 post). And I added an air filter to the blower to keep things dust free. Works great.

    Happy burning to all you Nashua owners!

  99. Anonymous Says:

    Where did you put the air filter?

  100. Anonymous Says:

    How did you do the air-wash system

  101. Lee Says:

    The air filter can be added to the intake side of the blower by using a 6″ adjustable take-off duct from your local building supply store. Here’s a link below to what they look like (mine has a 7″x8″ opening). Then a piece of filter material can be cut to fit and easily removed for cleaning or replacement. Sorry I can’t add pictures to this blog.

    http://www.google.com/imgres?hl=en&client=firefox-a&hs=I4n&sa=X&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&biw=1280&bih=831&tbm=isch&prmd=imvns&tbnid=OefrvV2034VRaM:&imgrefurl=http://www.imperialgroup.ca/rectangular.cfm%3Fc%3D106&docid=YBn9kGVng5R6eM&imgurl=http://www.imperialgroup.ca/product/Galvanized_AdjustableTakeOff_large.jpg&w=800&h=800&ei=wmR9UKPBFqWEygHhp4GgDg&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=178&vpy=382&dur=4011&hovh=225&hovw=225&tx=126&ty=127&sig=111242655822484811387&page=2&tbnh=141&tbnw=141&start=24&ndsp=30&ved=1t:429,r:16,s:20,i:183

  102. Lee Says:

    The air wash system modification is described in my Oct. 4, 2011 posting above (you’ll have to scroll up to it).

  103. Juergen Says:

    Here is a new way to get a fire started at the first match:

    you replace the kindling and newspapers with wood pellets. Wood pellets catch fire quickly and they provide plenty of heat.
    as they burn they even dry the fire wood.
    You fill the wood pellets into a kindling cradle (some kind of pellet basket) and place it at the bottom of your stove. for lighting
    a small amount of fire gel will do. On top of the pellet basket you just stack your fire wood any way you like. all this will be finished within one minute. then you light the gel and close the door of the stove.

  104. wood stoves pittsburgh Says:

    What a great post! Very helpful. I was looking for an informative article and I’m so happy I got this one 🙂

  105. Anonymous Says:

    I’ve used the fire starters that look like little brick or blocks for years. I usually break one in half and it will start almost anything, easy to store and a box will easily last all winter.

  106. Zane Says:

    I do not even understand how I finished up right here, however I believed this publish
    was once good. I do not recognize who you might be but certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger should you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  107. plumber in camberwell Says:

    You may have opened up my eyes right now with this thanks a lot

  108. tara schaller Says:

    anyone in the metrowest boston area interested in buying my nashua?? let me know.

  109. Mike Says:

    Tara, I’m interested. Send info to mike at bikewma@yahoo.com

  110. Anonymous Says:

    I’m seeing effects like woodstove saw…after years of using my Nashua. It is mainly when the fan is off, but even with it on, I think I am getting some leakage into the room from the unit. I guess even a Nashua won’t last forever. Its difficult to imagine how this could be repaired.

  111. Lee Says:

    Your leakage maybe as simple as an old door or glass gasket (they should be replaced periodically), or it could be a broken weld. Nashua’s are made out of steel (not cast iron) so they can be welded…something a local welding shop can do usually for very little cost. The bigger issue is getting the stove to and from the welder! Nashua’s are such good stoves their worth fixing.

  112. Anonymous Says:

    My door seals are new and fine. Smoke billows the side vents when I am lighting up the fire. I have been using the stove every winter since 2000, so this is definitely new. If there is an issue of a weld or a hole, it would be in an internal chamber, and the only way anyone could get to that to even find it would be to cut a hole in the top of the stove, outer chamber.

  113. Lee Says:

    The “internal chamber” or heat exchanger can be accessed from 3 access points- through the chimney pipe hole, through the blower openings, or through the fire chamber. I just took my NFP1 out for it’s annual spring cleaning and was able to reach all those areas. It might be some tight welding but it can be done.

  114. Anonymous Says:

    Alright, I’ll look it over and see if I can find a hole. Thanks

  115. gas underfloor heating running costs Says:

    I’m gone to say to my little brother, that he should also visit this web site on regular basis to take updated from hottest news update.

  116. Robert Says:

    I have a Nashua for sale. Great condition. If Interested email me at Kutsmeda@yahoo.com

  117. Camping Stove Coleman Says:

    Good info. Lucky me I found your site by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have saved as a favorite for later!

  118. Joan Price Says:

    I’ven been using a Empyre wood furnace and haven’t had trouble yet. I definitely want to take some steps to make sure I get the most out of the investment, though. Are there any specific resources that you can stand by? I just like getting as much research as possible when trying something new out. =)

  119. memory foam topper bjs Says:

    Hey there would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog
    in 3 completely different browsers and I must
    say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you
    recommend a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  120. tara Says:

    still am selling a nashua in metrowest area mass. some “gentleman” came and looked, was interested and was going to let me know, so i held listing it…it’s now been months, and winter is coming soon….
    if there is any interest, please let me know. it is almost 34yo and heated my home for a good number of those years. time to move along as i am no longer able to physically handle the wood etc.
    it’s an amazing stove, for sure!

  121. tara Says:

    update on my nashua…..
    it is still available…been stood up twice!
    please email me at tschaller53@gmail.com…in metrowest mass.

  122. Carbon Issues for Years Says:

    I spoke to an old man who used to sell Nashua over the phone He said the P3 should not have a gasket along the bottom of the door. Does that make any sense? There is a groove for it, and a good amount of air would enter the stove if it were not there? I have been having trouble with my CO detectors going off when the fire burns out/loose draft,

  123. Carbon Issues for Years Says:

    FYI-he also said something I recently found out on my own.,,that you have to disconnect the back stove pipe and clean inside the chamber as it accumulates soot and can block your draft.

    Just passing that along, Also, I have replaced door gasket and glass and gasket and removed brick chimney and replaced with double steel. Carbon issue remains when fire goes out and draft is lost.

  124. Replacement Blower? Says:

    I bought a house with an NFP-2. Unfortunately the blower unit is missing. Does anyone know if a replacement blower is available? The stove burns well but I think I’d get a lot more heat with the blower attached. Also I’ve always wondered about the missing door gasket. I’ll try the suggestion above regarding the doubled 1″ braided rope.

  125. Lee Says:

    you can find fans on e-bay that will fit. Mine uses a 210 CFM Dayton Blower. I even added a filter to it to keep the dust down in the house.

  126. chris Says:

    . I just painted a nfp 2 exactly like Abraham’s. I pulled it out of the garage and fired it up as recomended to burn off the fumes of rutland stove paint. It has been in storage for a long time. I am concerned about possible draft issues
    Smoke from the fire is pouring out the door when opened. When I close the door the fire goes out even with the knobs open. I am concerned about setting the stove in the house like this. I do not have chimney pipe attached during this burn. Will this change when I install the pipe ? I have 8 inch insulated chimney pipe. I still need a door seal and wonder if 1 inch fiberglass rope for stoves would work best .

  127. Lee Says:

    Don’t fire it up with out a gasket…you risk over firing it and doing damage to the stove. I’d put a piece of 4′ stove pipe in it to get the heat away from the top and give you some drafting.

  128. chris Says:

    Thanks for your input Lee. Should I go with a one inch gasket around the door and on all 4 sides? I did actually slip a length of 4 ‘ pipe horizontally out of the stove. But still had a lot of smoke come out the door. I believe this will not take place, however, with the chimney pipe fully installed. Would appreciate any further input.

  129. Lee Says:

    You can use the 1″ gasket around the door and double it up on the bottom where the gap is larger. The idea is to make an airtight seal all the way around. All of the air entering the stove should be controlled by the inlet knobs. You should be able to put the fire out by closing the inlet knobs all the way. If the fire keeps buring then you’ve got leaks in your gasket or elsewhere.

  130. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks again Lee. I will install the gasket. I still need a few chimney components to bring this all together. I have an old dog door opening in the wall behind where I plan to place the stove. I think I should run stove pipe horizontally out the back of the stove, to a damper plate, to my insulated 8″ pipe, through the wall, to a cleanout T, and up past the exterior eve. The other option is to T inside and go up to the cathedral ceiling with stove pipe then convert
    and go through the roof. I don’t know if that would improve the stoves draft and performance but I would rather not have to cut into the roof if possible.

  131. Lee Says:

    Chimney installation is very important to the functioning of your Nashua…vertical is better than horizontal. A good place to get information on this is http://www.hearth.com/talk/ , you’ll find technical help with design. What ever you do safety is #1. Many house fires occur from improper installation.

  132. Survival Gear Says:

    What’s up, yeah this paragraph is truly good and I have learned lot of things
    from it regarding blogging. thanks.

  133. Warthunderregister.wordpress.com Says:

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add
    to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and
    was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like
    this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy
    reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  134. home repairs Says:

    I have learn several excellent stuff here.

    Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot
    attempt you set to make this type of wonderful informative web
    site.

  135. Kelli Ritch Says:

    Hello friends,

    I just recently purchased a small beach house as my primary home with a small Nashua wood stove. It appears that the previous occupants had been using it often. I am determined to forge a very loving and respectable bond with this stove in hopes it will warm us safely throughout the brutal and very expensive winters here in New England. I work from home which one of the positives in that, my pups (they are my world and my children) will not be alone if fire danger results. Here’s the point and question of all this…inside the stove, there is broken gray what looks to be fire brick. So the sides are missing brick lining. In my last house, I had a new jotul which didn’t have fire brick lining. It was simply cast iron and we had a thermostat magnet to make sure it didn’t get hotter than it was supposed to. Very easy to use. This one is throwing me for a loop with the electric fan in the back, broken brick lining, and older style. The rest of it looks safe, however I am not a wood stove expert. I can’t seem to locate an inspector in the are to take a look at it but perhaps I really haven’t tried enough and really that is what I need to do. If you can offer me any advice on the fire brick situation, that would be terrific! also on where I can purchase extra smaller cut chords of wood on a very tight budget.
    Thank you all!
    and safe burning this winter!
    Kelli

  136. Lee Says:

    Congrats on being the new caretaker of a Nashua stove!
    Definitely check it over for cracks, old/leaking gaskets, cracked glass, etc. Also clean and inspect the chimney pipe…safety should be number 1.
    Replacing fire brick is an easy job, you can buy them at most big box lumber stores or farm stores like Tractor Supply/Farm & Fleet. They moderate the heat transfer from the burning coals to the metal surface and they store heat.
    As far as the wood goes you may have to do some re-cutting or custom order your wood since most firewood sellers cut 20-24″ lengths and they are often too large. Smaller splits seem to work better in my Nashua stove.
    Happy burning 😉

  137. tara Says:

    if anyone is looking for a nashua for this 2014-2015 winter, i am still selling mine….were i to be physically well enough to handle wood etc, it wouldn’t be leaving my home…but it must.
    any interest, please contact me…i am in eastern mass…
    thanks

  138. gates repair torrance Says:

    Hey There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. This is a really well
    written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to learn extra
    of your helpful information. Thank you for the post.

    I will certainly return.

  139. ring Says:

    What’s up, just wanted to tell you, I liked this post. It
    was inspiring. Keep on posting!

  140. greg Says:

    what model Nashua is that? do you know where I could look for a used on? I’m in southeastern Ohio. gregmorgan01@hotmail.com

  141. greg Says:

    I’m looking for a used Nashua woodstove like the one in this article. gregmorgan01@hotmail.com I’m in southeastern Ohio. 740 969 3512

  142. Shan Says:

    I have purchased a Nashua wood stove and I am inquiring on how to replace the seal around the glass of the door and also around the door itself. What size of rope also. Tbanks

  143. Allyson Says:

    I also received a Nashua stove with my home purchase and am inquiring on replacing the gaskets, size?

  144. greg morgan Says:

    does anyone know the difference between a nfp-1 and nfp-2?

  145. Lee Says:

    Size & heatr output…the NFP-1: Heats 7000 to 10000 cu. ft., the NFP-2: Heats 12000 to 16000 cu. ft. (according to the original factory specs). The NFP-2 is taller and deeper, has a bigger door with 3 hinges vs 2.

  146. greg morgan Says:

    thanks

  147. greg morgan Says:

    I just got a used nashua nfp-2 just like the one in this article. does anyone know what size gasket(s) I need to use when replacing gaskets around the window? Also, what do you use as a gasket where the blower connects to the stove in back?

  148. greg morgan Says:

    I just got a used nashua nfp-2 just like the one in this article. does anyone know what size gasket(s) I need to use when replacing gaskets around the window? Also, what do you use as a gasket where the blower connects to the stove in back?

  149. Jim Noyes Says:

    Hi! Same gasket question!

    jimnoyes@comcast.net

  150. greg morgan Says:

    I figured it out. I used a 1/4 inch thick by 1 inch flat gasket with adhesive on one side for the glass. On the door I put a 1 inch round gasket on the bottom only. then I used a 3/4 inch round gasket around the entire door, including on TOP of the 1 inch gasket already on the bottom. this is because the bottom area is so big. The 1 inch gasket took up all that space on the bottom before I put on the 3/4 gasket. I then used a 3/4 inch flat gasket with adhesive on one side for the blower on the back. 4 total gaskets used! But my stove is now airtight and is working great! I can fully control the burn. I also installed a damper in the chimney pipe which really helps control the burn as well.

Leave a Reply

