Remington 870 barrels

by

I know that everyone loves to look at pictures of firearms so here’s a blog entry on changing a barrel for the venerable Remington 870.  Anyone can do it.  The 870 has been in production for a very long time.  It is a pump operated five shot 12 gauge shotgun.  The thing is as nearly trouble-free as a firearm can be.  There are all sorts of aftermarket accessories available for the 870 too from different barrels, chokes, magazine extensions, lights, lasers and different stocks.  It can be adapted for just about any use.  There is also a huge array of ammo available for it.

The 870 with a 26″ barrel.  I’d call this a sporting barrel.  You can screw different choke tubes onto it –

sg1Notice the relatively long length of the barrel.

First you need to make sure that the gun is safe.

sgSafety on.  Then work the slide and you can see that nothing is in the chute.  Although it looks like nothing is in the chamber I always stick my finger in there just to be sure that my eyes aren’t fooling me.  Check twice, save a life.  You have to do this every time you pick up a firearm, put a firearm down,  pass it to someone else or get handed one from someone else.  I don’t give a crap if you just watched the guy at the range that is handing you a weapon  make it safe himself.  You have to make it safe yourselfEvery time.  Every time you pick a weapon up or put it down make it safe.  Make it habit.

sg2Next, you work the fore-end slide back halfway, or more, towards the receiver.

sg3Then you unscrew the magazine cap.  You can see the cap attached to the shoulder strap.

p1010064Here I’m getting ready to slide the new barrel in.

p1010065Here the new barrel is being slid into the receiver and over the magazine tube.  You have to make sure that the ring on the barrel goes over the magazine.  It really slides right in.  If it doesn’t you’re doing something wrong and just start over again.

Screw the magazine cap back on and you are almost done.

p1010067Notice the shorter 18″ defense barrel.  This is a cylinder bore barrel with a bead sight.  It’s much better for defensive purposes than the longer sporting barrel.  It’s easier to swing around and get on target, particularly in the small confines of a house.  Being short (me) the shotgun feels better balanced with a shorter barrel.

Before you store the firearm, check again to make sure it is still unloaded and the safety is still on.  Trigger lock it and place it in your safe.

Getting out pics-

xc1Beautiful snow covered field on a beautiful day.

xc5Heaven.  This is the ceiling of my cathedral.  Beautiful old white pines.  They’re probably 100’+.

xcSki buddy.  SMACK that branch with yo’ pole.

8 Responses to “Remington 870 barrels”

  1. Survivalist News » Abraham’s Blog: Remington 870 barrels Says:

    […] Remington 870 barrels « Abraham’s Blog I know that everyone loves to look at pictures of firearms so here’s a blog entry on changing a barrel for the venerable Remington 870. Anyone can do it. The 870 has been in production for a very long time. It is a pump operated five shot 12 gauge shotgun. The thing is as nearly trouble-free as a firearm can be. There are all sorts of aftermarket accessories available for the 870 too from different barrels, chokes, magazine extensions, lights, lasers and different stocks. It can be adapted for just about any use. There is also a huge array of ammo available for it. […]

  2. Samuel Adams Says:

    I added a Sidesaddle that mounts on the left side of the receiver to hold 5 extra rounds and an extended magazine tube to bring that up to 8 rounds.

  3. Gun Newb Says:

    Can the barrel be replaced on any version of the Remington 870? I recently bought an 870 at a gun show. I think it is the Express synthetic 18” (shown here: http://www.remington.com/products/firearms/shotguns/model_870/model_870_express_synthetic_18inch.asp). Also, how much do standalone barrels cost? Thanks!

  4. hotdogjam Says:

    Sam Adams-Both sound like good ideas. I’m not sure personally that I’d spend $ on carrying more shells. My pockets work fine for that. Personally at this point I’d rather buy food, water filters or silver. Did you know that there is one bar in the world where you can have a Sam Adams beer while looking at Mr. Adams’ grave?

    Gun Newb – Yeah, my 870 is an express too. I like the synthetic. You should be able to change the barrels just like I did. Just try it, there really is nothing to it. If it takes you more than three minutes you’re doing something wrong. Just make sure to make the gun safe first. I think that I paid $112 for the short barrel. I was looking around for awhile though.

  5. Samuel Adams Says:

    Unfortunately I was only in Boston once, to fly into Logan and get a rental car for a class up north in Billerica. Sorry I missed my opportunity to rais a mug to my namesake.

  6. barclay card Says:

    Check out my site

  7. Neva Says:

    I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re incredible!
    Thanks!

  8. dubturbo| Says:

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and
    I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.

Leave a Reply

