The range

by

Just got back from the range. Kind of a bummer. I like going first thing in the morning on rainy, cold, dark days. I generally don’t like people. Not that I’m a loner. I just don’t like to interact with a bunch of people I don’t know. That’s why rainy mornings are good at the range. If I go on a nice Saturday there are a ton of people. Everyone is nosing about everyone else’s business, which I don’t like . I like to mind my own business fire off a few rounds and be done with it. When I go if other people are there everyone is interested in what everyone else is shooting and how everyone else is doing. Sometimes they want to trade firearms so they can try mine and I can try theirs. Then if you need to reset your targets you need to wait until everyone on the line is done, make your guns safe, leave them on the table and then all go down to the targets like a herd of cows and reset them all at once then everyone comes back to the line like a herd of cows. God forbid your target blows over or something because then you gotta wait for everyone else to finish and be ready to go back down. In other words it’s more fun by yourself. I get to do what I want, how I want, when I want.

The other thing I don’t get is bench shooters. These guys can shoot a paintball hanging by string at 100 yards. They’ll take five minutes to fire off one .22 round. They always shoot sitting down and straight at the target. I don’t get it.

I like to shoot from different positions. I say to myself how often will I be shooting from a sitting position with a bench in front of me? Not very often. Because of that I shoot standing and kneeling positions. I like to move around too. Depending on whether I’m using a rifle or a handgun I’ll get up close to the target, maybe 5-7 feet for a handgun and 25 feet for a rifle. Bam, bam, bam. Then I’ll move back a bit. Bam, bam, bam. Then maybe I’ll move to different angles. Bam, bam, bam. Then I’ll move diagonally backwards. Bam, bam, bam. Then I’ll fire a round and step diagonally back to the left, fire a round and step diagonally back to the left. I’ll try to shoot while moving forwards.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that it’s important to move around when you shoot. You need to be able to acquire a target, shoot and move out of the way, acquire a target, shoot and move, acquire a target, shoot and move. Move closer. Move farther back. Move straight. Move diagonally. IMHO, shooting practice should not be from a static position.

That’s another reason I don’t like going when others are there. It cuts down on my fun and it proves to them that I am nuts.

If you only shoot from one position you are making a mistake.

OBTW, the bummer is that there were like 20 cops at the range this morning. Cops are nosey by nature so it wasn’t a good trip to the range for me.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “The range”

  1. idpashooting Says:

    Have you ever tried IDPA? Sounds like you might like it.

  2. hotdogjam Says:

    I haven’t, but it does look like fun. I was on the IDPA website last week actually. I think it’s great training for reality and fairly cheap ($40? to join?) to boot.

    It’s on my list, my rather long list.

  3. idpashooting Says:

    Yeah IDPA membership is $40/yr, then you have to add range/match fees which are around $10-$20 each match. Some clubs will let you pay an extra $5 for a second run, which is highly recommended.

  4. Foot Arch Pain causes Says:

    fantastic put up, very informative. I ponder why the other experts of this sector don’t understand this.
    You must continue your writing. I am confident, you’ve a great readers’ base already!

  5. Human Growth Hormone Says:

    Thanks for the good writeup. It if truth be told was a enjoyment account it.

    Glance complicated to more brought agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we keep up a correspondence?

Leave a Reply

